Goa Room Fiasco

n6JrLigHave you ever tried to be suave and sophisticated and failed at it?

When my husband and I went on a trip to Goa we had our one-year-old daughter with us. The resort where we were to stay was one of the top-notch ones and we were paying an arm and a leg for this much-awaited holiday.

The hotel took our breath away. It was elite and peopled by staff who seemed creatures of perfection and by guests who were rolling in the bucks.

My husband and I seemed to be very common folks compared to the crème de la crème lounging around.

I told my husband that I was going to be suave and refined and not be my usual gauche self.

“Let us pretend that we holiday like this all the time.” I told him.

We checked into our cottage in the far end of the area and walked to the restaurant for high tea.

After a sumptuous meal we came back to our cottage and when we tried the key, it would NOT open. My poor husband tried every bit of maneuvering but the key just would not turn.

We summoned the room service man for help who while giving us disparaging looks, taught us how we had to the slide the key in side ways and while turning it, push the door open.

“That’s one black mark against us. Naïve couple not knowing how to open locks.” I said, my plan of acting like a sophisticated lady gone awry.ouOzbXc

Inside the room I put my daughter to sleep while my husband went into the loo.

Suddenly my mobile rang and the caller was my husband from the restroom.

“I say,” he whispered, “the toilet door is not opening from the inside”

I pushed and shoved the door from the outside. Still it did not give way. I had to now ring up the room service and their guy came with some tools and released my husband from his offensive confines, while politely warning him not to slam the doors.

I started giggling while my better half hurried to clear himself of all blame.

“Hey, It is not my fault this time. The doors of our cottage really hate us.”

“Lets not make any more mistakes. Already the hotel staff must be thinking that we have come from the backwaters of some remote illiterate village. I am sure they think we are country bumpkins.”

After sometime it started to rain and pretty soon it became dark.

I had with me an electric  bottle sterilizer where I arranged my child’s feeding bottles.

mfeb3aCMy husband stepped into the bathroom once more and said cleverly, “See I am not closing the door. If we call the room service one more time today they will black list us”

To be doubly safe he kept the dressing table stool pushed against the door.

He plugged in his electric shaver. Just as he switched the shaver on, I switched on the bottle sterilizer.

Phuut!!

The electricity circuit breaker tripped and we were plunged in darkness.

For a moment my husband I looked at each other in dismay and then we began to laugh.

We stood in the dark cottage and laughed and laughed, till tears rolled down our eyes.

Then showing the electric sterilizer out of sight, we rang the room service for help for the third time that day.

So much for trying to pretend to be like the jet setting, globe-trotting crowd!

Story by BA. Written by Gulsum Basheer@ talkalittledo

Photo Credit: http://www.rgbstock.com

This entry was posted in The Newly Married Indian, We Indians! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Goa Room Fiasco

  1. ksbeth says:

    this is so funny, thanks for sharing this story )

  2. Alyssa Al Alawi, UAE says:

    This is too funny! I’d love to know more about their trip… the hotel’s reaction when they began to suspect these guests perhaps did not know how to turn on a light in addition to not knowing how to open doors!!! Very, very well written. My attention was rivetted till the end!

  3. Madhu says:

    Ha ha, we often have issues with key cards too. And with ultra modern shower configurations! 😀

  4. Khalanthar says:

    The story is well written and enjoyable.
    When we went on a trip to Europe one of members complained to the hotel for not a having health faucet/hand shower in the toilet. Of course it was the mistake of the tour operator to brief the people that they should know how to use toilet papers or should be ready with a mug.

  5. Small disasters make for a memorable holiday – not to mention the bonding over them. 🙂 Good to see that you guys found humor in the situation rather than spoil your holiday over it.

  6. haja says:

    I hope the rest of their stay went well

  7. TBM says:

    Oh these are the types of things that happen to me all the time. Thanks for the laugh.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Funny, although, the hotel seems to have things that don’t work.

  9. lifekadrama says:

    wahoo,very nice story

  10. Dilip says:

    Hilarious and well written 🙂
    Thanks for the share.

  11. Antony says:

    Thanks for making me laugh today. I think a lot of us experience these moments of awkwardness. To take it light and enjoy it is what makes life beautiful.

Your comments are valuable. Feel free to pen your thoughts here.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.